Mon, 27 May 2019

Peppers among nominees for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Sports Xchange
15 Nov 2018, 05:16 GMT+10

Carolina Panthers defensive end Julius Peppers, Los Angeles Rams running back Todd Gurley and Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Carson Wentz are three of the 32 nominees for the fifth annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, the NFL announced Wednesday.

Miami Dolphins running back Frank Gore, who is also a nominee, won the award in 2016 while playing with the Indianapolis Colts. Arizona Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald (2014), Oakland Raiders cornerback Charles Woodson (2015) and Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly (2017) previously have won the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was established in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr.

A panel of former players from the NFL legends community will select eight finalists, who will then be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot on Dec. 14. The winner of the award is determined by a vote of current NFL players.

Here's the full list of 32 nominees for this season's award, which will be announced the night before the Super Bowl:

Arizona Cardinals defensive tackle Corey Peters; Atlanta Falcons center Alex Mack; Baltimore Ravens safety Eric Weddle; Buffalo Bills defensive tackle Kyle Williams; Carolina Panthers defensive end Julius Peppers; Chicago Bears center Cody Whitehair; Cincinnati Bengals wide receiver A.J. Green; Cleveland Browns offensive lineman Joel Bitonio; Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott; Denver Broncos defensive tackle Domata Peko; Detroit Lions long snapper Don Muhlbach; Green Bay Packers cornerback Tramon Williams; Houston Texans cornerback Johnathan Joseph; Indianapolis Colts quarterback Andrew Luck; Jacksonville Jaguars defensive end Calais Campbell; Kansas City Chiefs wide receiver Sammy Watkins; Los Angeles Chargers tight end Antonio Gates; Los Angeles Rams running back Todd Gurley; Miami Dolphins running back Frank Gore; Minnesota Vikings defensive end Danielle Hunter; New England Patriots wide receiver Matthew Slater; New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees; New York Giants tight end Rhett Ellison; New York Jets defensive lineman Steve McLendon; Oakland Raiders quarterback Derek Carr; Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Carson Wentz; Pittsburgh Steelers guard David DeCastro; San Francisco 49ers tackle Joe Staley; Seattle Seahawks wide receiver Tyler Lockett; Tampa Bay Buccaneers linebacker Lavonte David; Tennessee Titans quarterback Marcus Mariota; Washington Redskins tight end Vernon Davis.

Sign up for The San Antonio News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!